Top Ten Tuesday: Books and Series I Decided To DNF – Do I Regret It?

Top Ten Tuesday was originally hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish and is now over at Jana’s blog, That Artsy Reader Girl.

This weeks’ topic was to do with travelling, but I didn’t have anything that fit in. So, instead I decided to do last weeks topic that I didn’t get to do because my laptop took two and a half hours to update. It was torture.

All the books in this list are either the first in a series or part way through that I didn’t finish for one reason or another.

1. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword

This book has been sat on my ‘currently reading’ section of Goodreads since November last year, and I’m not sure when I’ll get a chance to finish it. I was a little bored, but I somehoe managed to get over a hundred pages in. The third book is also on my shelf, but it doesn’t leave me with much hope if I stopped reading the second one.

2. Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

Zenith

I really tried with this book. I even got to the halfway point, but I just wasn’t interested. It sounded great, however I couldn’t connect with the characters and the writing just didn’t flow for me. Whether that is because I don’t read a lot of sci-fi, or if it’s because it was written by two people, I don’t know. I feel like I should try and finish this, but it took me long enough to reach the halfway point.

3. House of Night Series by P. C. Cast

house of night

I used to adore this series! I started reading it just after I got into Twilight, and I couldn’t get enough. Every book I bought was amazing and I loved the characters. HOWEVER, I felt that as they went along the story lost it’s spark and I eventually stopped reading after Awakened, even though I’d bought Destiny. It would be interesting to see if I found them as good now. Probably not though.

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergent

If it weren’t for the movie, I’m not sure I’d remember much of this book. I don’t even think I read the second book, which says a lot. It was just one of those series that I quickly grew out of, and I was never a big fan of dystopian anyway.

5. The Selection by Kiera Cass

the selection

Everyone always goes on about this series (for good and bad reasons), but after I read the first book I never bought the rest. Although, the covers for the series are absolutely gorgeous. I don’t even remember what happens in this book, so it obviously didn’t leave much of an impression.

6. Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

bloodlines

I adored the Vampire Academy series, and so I figured I would really enjoy Bloodlines as well. I kind of did, and then I just stopped reading them. I remember reading the first one, but I don’t remember much of the second, and I never got around to reading the third. I didn’t even know there were six books until today!

7. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidian

I actually remember loving this book so much and the characters, especially the male lead. And then I just never picked up the second book, which seems to be a recurring theme with me and books. I can’t remember why I didn’t, although it’s probably because I used to get too distracted by other books.

8. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder

Can I just repeat what I said above? Another book I enjoyed and never carried on. Everyone says they love this series and I feel like I missed out, and I’m probably at the point where I wouldn’t go back and read them.

9. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

shatter-me

Again, another series I feel like I missed out on. I originally read Shatter Me before it was published in the UK, as I bought the US edition from the Book Depository, and I remember really enjoying the story. I can probably blame other books getting in the way as my reason for not reading the rest of the series. Story of my life.

10. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

tmi

Please tell me I wasn’t the only one that stopped reading this series (and the other series’ set in the universe)? I read the first four, bought the fifth and never read it. I even have these covers, and they all have brand new ones now. Plus, I can’t even remember half of what happens in them.

page-break

I actually managed to come up with a lot of books and series for this (which is probably really bad now I think about it).

What book series did you DNF?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books and Series I Decided To DNF – Do I Regret It?

  1. I totally also didn’t finish the House of Night books, but I LOVED almost all the other series that you didn’t finish. I’m so sad you didn’t like the Vampire Academy and Bloodlines books they were so good!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m realizing now that I read your post way too fast and totally missed like half of what you were saying (sorry I suck hahah.) I’ve read all of the series you mentioned in this post except #2. I fully recommend that you attempt to read 6-10 because they were amazing, but the others I could take them or leave them. If you loved the Vampire Academy books you should totally give Bloodlines another try!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. We have like five series in common! And actually I wish I stopped more of these series earlier, like the mortal instruments and bloodlines. They started out good enough, but then became like TV series that earn too much and too attached to characters to be cancelled even if the plot should have ended. I’m really happy I finally quit house of nights and tried to erase how much teenager me liked the first books (remember that awkward all-vampire young adult phase?)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. so many of were a part of this awkward ‘I’m obsessed with vampires and vampire books’ phase, myself included. I honestly don’t know that I’ve left it, just moved to adultier vampire books (look up Linsey Sands she’s amazing.)

      Like

  3. I have also DNFed the mortal insturments series, I only read the 1st book and I didn’t enjoy it.
    I also DNFed the Divergent series, I only read the first 2 books and I really hated them.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ahh too bad, The Selection and The Lunar Chronicle are my fav. I like RQ series but I can totally see why you don’t want to continue this. As for the other series you mentioned, I’m not interested to read them too!

    Like

  5. I remember I didn’t move for 3 days while I read the Divergents in one sitting and when I finished I calmly closed the last book, took a deep breath, and threw it from the sofa into the kitchen. I was a dramatic child. I kind love Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunters (more to do with the characters than the story I’ll admit) but I know they aren’t for everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow!! Giving up on Cinder?? That’s so sad! What a great book. Not life changing or anything, but great.
    I gave up on divergent as well, maybe I would have liked it in another lifetime where it didn’t come out around so many other “Hunger Games”-esque sorts of novels.
    I’ve also heard a lot of people saying that “Glass Sword” was just… eh. Sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Glass Sword was just so bad, in my opinion. And the bored factor was ridiculous, UGH. So upsetting, because I loved Red Queen so much and it was a 5 star read for me. I don’t plan to continue with the series. I think I read one chapter of the third book and didn’t even continue with it. I ended up giving my books away.

    Like

Leave a comment