How I’m Staying Motivated While Revising My Novel

how-im-staying-motivated-while-revising-my-novel

Back at the beginning of June, on the 8th to be exact, I got an idea for a YA Fantasy story about dragons, which is now called Beneath the Empty. I won’t go into too much detail because there’s been a lot of plagiarism lately, but it’s about a princess who has the ability to shift between her human and dragon form. With her dragon guardian by her side, she goes against her mother’s wishes and ventures into enemy territory to figure out why her kind are being killed. Obviously, there’s a lot more to it than that, but that’s how it gets started.

I finished the first draft in October and the second draft in February, but my work wasn’t done there. In that time, I got an amazing critique partner (CP) and several beta readers who have helped me so much. Their help has been invaluable, but I’ll go into detail about why you need a CP and beta readers in another blog post. With their detailed notes, I have started writing the third draft of my book, which is currently sitting at 54,000 words (it was 109,000 at the end of the second draft). So far, they have only read the first half as I was writing the second half while they read it, but after this round of revisions, they will be able to read it all, which makes me slightly nervous.

I’ve lost count on the number of times I have read through my book, but I know it so well and the changes I am making have made it much stronger. However, it hasn’t always been easy to stay motivated, especially when new ideas start to pop into my head (which happened a couple of weeks ago).

Creating an Outline

A few of my betas suggested big changes which would have meant rewriting most of the first act, which was daunting in itself. However, I embraced the changes because I knew it would make the story better and improve character development. One of the ways I managed to stay on track was creating a detailed outline for all the changes I would be making. It’s hard to keep your mind focused when you’re jumping around from document to document, so having everything in one place helped.

I started by going through all my beta readers notes, jotting down all the changes I needed to make, before visualizing what the story needed to be, what I wanted it to be. I wrote down where I needed to expand on details or cut any info-dumping, as well as drafting completely new chapters that hadn’t been there before. The outline I made helped keep me on track instead of feeling like I was losing my mind trying to sort it out.

Setting a Goal

This may not work for everyone, but I am a very goal-oriented person. When I set myself a goal, most of the time I am able to achieve it. When I was first drafting my book, I set myself a target of writing at least 1,000 words a day, which I suppose is the reason I was able to complete the 92,000-word draft within 4 months. Of course, I didn’t always write that much because life gets in the way sometimes and I also went through a low period when I was made redundant at my previous job. But it worked and I decided to set myself a similar goal for this draft.

If I want to finish this draft by the end of March, I need to be writing at least 2,500 words a day. Recently, I’ve been writing more than that because I am at the point in my revision where I can copy and paste certain pieces into the new draft as they don’t need any changes. This will be the case for the second half as I don’t have any beta notes for it, only a few CP ones, but some of the earlier changes will echo through the later chapters, causing dialogue and descriptions to change. At this point, I feel confident I will be able to send the new and improved document to my betas by the end of the month.

Listening to a Playlist

Unfortunately, I can’t write all day, not when I have a job to do and an art commission to finish. Even when I’m not writing, I am still thinking about my characters and the world, and having a playlist dedicated to my book helps a lot. The one I created for Beneath the Empty is full of haunting and cinematic songs which represent the book perfectly. Some songs make me feel emotional and others have me wanting to ride into battle on a dragon. Some have provided a lot of inspiration for certain scenes which wouldn’t have happened without it.

On the days where I’m feeling a little unmotivated to sit down in front of my laptop, I simply pop my headphones in and listen to the playlist. It’s amazing how much my mood can change by doing that and before I know it, I’m typing away. I don’t listen to it while I’m writing (I need to be able to hear the characters in my head, which doesn’t sound creepy at all) but I do when I’m stuck on something.

Rewarding Myself

When I finished the first and second draft of Beneath the Empty, I rewarded myself with my favorite meals, a bottle of wine and a new book. I’ll probably do something similar when I finish this draft, but in between, I give myself smaller rewards. When I reach the end of a chapter, I allow myself to indulge in my favorite treat or watch my favorite TV show. It helps keep me motivated, especially if I’m addicted to what I’m watching. Everyone loves to be rewarded, so don’t be afraid to do it for yourself when you’re writing.

page-break

That’s all I have at the moment and so far, they have been working. I feel so excited every day when I finish work to get home and improve on this story. Before my current manuscript, I never edited a book, ever. I always got better ideas, but Beneath the Empty has my heart and I cannot wait until I can start querying it.

5 thoughts on “How I’m Staying Motivated While Revising My Novel

  1. Thanks for this post! I so needed it. I’m revising my 1st novel too and it’s a tough process considering half the time I don’t know what I’m doing! But I know that when I’m done with it, it will be better and something I can be proud of. I wish you everything of the best with your book baby 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh, I love this post! I definitely need to try to the playlist idea; I frequently struggle to get myself to sit down and write in the evenings. I’m also redrafting/re-outlining my current WIP (all these stupid little plot holes might be the death of me). I know you said you’re using an outline now, but just out of curiosity, how detailed was your outline in your initial drafts? Outlining has been the bane of my writing existence currently, but while it stresses me out, I also feel anxious if I don’t have one.
    I just threw a lot of thoughts at you, didn’t I? Lol, sorry!

    Also, I can’t wait to hear more about your writing journey in the future! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked the post, hopefully my tips can help out!

      When I started writing I have a very rough outline for the first act but not beyond that. Naturally I’m a pantser and I like discovering the story as I write, but I’m also a perfectionist so in terms of plot so the story hasn’t changed too much 😊 I’m quite lucky that I had such a clear vision for this book, but I always knew what would happen a few chapters ahead.

      It’s funny how all writers work so differently, but I know I’ll have to outline my next project as it’s more intricate

      Like

      1. Wow, that’s really cool! Yeah, I think I walk the line between a plotter & a pantser also.

        And yesss, it’s so interesting how different writing processes can be! I just read a book and in the interview at the end, the author said they worked on their novel in 30K chunks (writing and revising the chunk before moving onto the next) which sounds so bizarre to me!

        Like

Leave a comment