Wrapping Up The Week (21st May – 27th May)

I can’t believe it’s almost the end of May already. This month has just flown by and it has been filled with some amazing books. This week was no different, and I managed to read a book from a genre that I don’t normally like. Spoiler, the book was amazing!

It is a bank holiday over here in the UK, which means I get tomorrow off from work and I also booked off Tuesday to have an extra long break. Of course, I plan on spending the next two days doing a lot of reading because I am going to try and read two more books before Friday to reach a total of 7 this month. Wish me luck!

I also got a delivery of three books today from Amazon, which I am so excited to read! They have already been added to my June TBR list that I will be posting about next weekend.

Books I read and reviewed…

scythe

This book was incredible! It completely took me by surprise, considering I don’t read a lot from the sci-fi genre, but this book was so unique. The idea that there is no more death and the only way to die is to be gleaned by a scythe is brilliant, and something I’ve never heard of before. The characters were great, as were the plot twists and there was some politics involved as well. If you are a fan of The Hunger Games I would suggest checking this out. You can read my full review here.

I am currently reading…

empire of storms

The first book that I am currently reading is the massive,Empire of Storms. This book is literally making my wrists hurt from having to hold it, but it is so good! I am just under a third of the way through and I’m really enjoying the way the story is going. A lot of things are happening, plans are falling into place. I’ve grown to love certain characters a lot more, especially Manon Blackbeak, who is literally the most badass witch ever! I can’t wait to see what happens to her later on in the story and where her allegiances lie in the end.

ace of shades

I also started reading Ace of Shades. Funny story, I actually requested this on NetGalley and never heard anything back. Then I signed into my account this morning (mainly to browse for any new titles) and saw that I had been accepted, I just never got an email about it. I’m a little past the publication date, but I figured better late than never. I’m only 17% of the way through but I’m already drawn in and really intrigued by the world. There are a lot of comparisons to Las Vegas which I am enjoying, and the characters are interesting. I’m hoping to finish this over the bank holiday.

Posts from the week…

WWW Wednesday – Finally Reading Sci-Fi

Award: Sunshine Blogger Award

It’s always lovely to be nominated for awards because it lets me know that people love what I am putting out on my blog. I always try to be myself and it’s great to see that being so well-received. I am so close to 300 followers and I am so thankful for each and every one, so thank you for sticking with me.

My WIP…

This week was another successful one in terms of my writing/editing. I managed to write another 10,000 words, bringing me to a total of 33,000 on my second draft. It is definitely shaping together nicely and I am ironing out some of the plot holes, as well as writing all the important details down so I don’t forget. I even managed to create a map for the Kingdoms so I can reference them accurately. Not to mention the fact that I am adding the meat to the bones of my characters and they are feeling more real.

I definitely find dialogue to be one of my strong suits when it comes to writing, and find it easy to create a conversation that could feel real. I want my characters to react how anyone else would, especially my main character Raegan, who has her world turned upside down. Let’s just say she swears quite a few times.

I actually took a break from writing this weekend, just because I’ve been so tired (my fault though, I forgot to take my iron tablets and now I’m paying for it), but tomorrow is the start of a new week!

Other Fun Stuff…

We finally got our new sofa and I love it! It has been a month since we moved in and it was so good to finally be able to sit down on it. Unfortunately, it wasn’t the easiest to get into the house. Turns out it was too big to fit around the staircase to get up to our living room, so the two delivery men were kind enough to help us lift it up onto the balcony.

It was probably hilarious to see, my boyfriend and I holding onto the top of the sofa, while one of the men ran up to help us. We eventually got it over the edge and safely into the room. Although, I don’t think we’ll be moving anytime soon.

IMG_8673

page-break

And that was my fun-filled week! I am hoping and praying I get to reach my goal of seven books this month, mainly because it’ll be my current record.

I hope you all had a great week as well! Let me know what books you loved in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Wrapping Up The Week (21st May – 27th May)

Leave a comment